The Ministry has three (4) departments. These are:


1. Human Resource and Administration

Human Resource and Administration (HRA) is mandated with providing administrative support, training, facilitating recruitment and placement, and separation and interpretation of Terms and Conditions of Service to members of staff for the smooth operation of the Ministry.
HRA is composed of the following units:

(a) Human Resource Management Unit

Mandated with staff recruitment and placement, separation and interpretation of the Terms and Conditions of service for the members of staff in order to enhance the smooth operation of the ministry.

(b) Training Unit

This unit is mandated with undertaking training needs assessment and facilitating the training of officers who require the same in order to create an up to date and well-educated workplace for the smooth operation of the Ministry.

(c) Accounts Unit

Mandated with providing financial support to the Ministry in order to enhance  smooth operation of the ministry.

(d) Purchasing and Supplies Unit

Mandated to carry out all procurement and commodity and equipment storage functions.


(e) Administrative Unit

Mandated with providing logistical support services in order to enhance the smooth operation of the Ministry.

(f) Registry

It is responsible for records management.  Its objective is to implement and maintain an efficient and effective records management system for improved accessibility to information for decision making.

2. Zambia News and Information Services (ZANIS)


Visit ZANIS website

The Zambia News and Information Services (ZANIS) is a public relations wing of government under the Ministry of Information, Broadcasting Services.

The department came into being in 2005 following the merger between the Zambia News Agency (ZANA) and Zambia Information Services (ZIS), both Government wings.

ZANIS mandate is to interpret Government policies and provide accurate and comprehensive information to the public in order to solicit their support and participation in national development.

This mandate is executed through the department’s three units, Editorial, Technical Services and Research and Public Relations.

ZANIS is the only mainstream media organisation in Zambia providing the widest possible professional news coverage through a well trained cadre of Journalists stationed at the headquarters in Lusaka and regional offices. The majority of our regional offices are in rural Zambia where 70 per cent of the country’s population is concentrated.

The department’s headquarters are in Lusaka while regional offices at Kabwe (Central Province), Ndola (Copperbelt Province), Mansa (Luapula Province), Kasama (Northern Province),Chipata (Eastern Province), Livingstone (Southern Province), Mongu (Western Province) and Solwezi (North-Western Province).

The department as a media mix provides credible news through text, video and still pictures to the Zambian public. This is done through our clients who include the national broadcaster, Zambia National Broadcasting Corporation (ZNBC), Times of Zambia, Zambia Daily Mail and a string of privately owned newspapers, commercial and community radio stations as well as private television stations.

ZANIS also provide news and in depth articles to the Zambian public abroad and the international community by internet. To achieve this, the department cooperates with with multinational and national news agencies like the Russia Information and News Agency (RIA Novosti), XINHUA News Agency of China and Namibia Press Agency (NAMPA), Ethiopia News Agency (ENA) and Mozambique News Agency (AIM) with which we have mutual news exchange agreements.

3. Planning and Information

The Department of Planning, Press and Public Relations in the Ministry is the point of contact and an interface for local and visiting journalists. It’s main task is to ensure the free flow of information, access to community by both local and international media, as well as monitoring and evaluating government policies, programmes and activities. The department also prepares and distributes information such as media releases, cabinet briefings and statements in response to media reports pertinent to government.

(a)  Planning Unit

(b)  Public Relations Unit

(c)  Copyright Unit