Provincial Television and Radio Stations


The situation in Zambia has been that Media houses, especially Television Stations are mostly concentrated in urban areas along the line of rail. This has denied the rural populace access to information which is critical in enhancing their participation in the affairs of the country.
To reverse this state of affairs, the Government of the Republic of Zambia decided to establish Radio and Television Stations in all the 10 provincial centres in the country. The Republican President emphasized that these stations must be constructed as quickly as possible and that once operational, these stations should maximize on local programming content as a way of promoting the use of respective local languages in addition to English which is the official language.

The Provincial Radio and Television Stations will also create jobs for the local communities during the construction phase and when the stations are fully operational.

The Radio and Television Stations will further provide an important platform for high lighting the many and monumental development taking place in rural areas.

A committee of experts headed by the Hon. Deputy Minister of Information and Broadcasting Services was set up by the Republican President to spearhead the establishment of Provincial Radio and Television Stations. The committee launched the Establishment of Radio and Television stations Project on 1st October, 2012 in Solwezi, the provincial centre of North Western Province.
The committee has so far made assessments on infrastrure development in six (6) provinces namely:

  • Northern Province
  • North Western Province
  • Copperbelt Province
  • Central Province
  • Luapula Province
  • Muchinga Province