Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
latest news


SADC Secretariat announces launch of 2019 SADC Media Awards

The SADC Secretariat has announced the launch of the 2019 SADC Media Awards competition in the four categories namely; Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism.

The four first prize winners will travel to the 39th SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government to be held in Tanzania in August, 2019 to receive their awards and a prize of USD2500 per category. The runners-up will receive USD1000 each through their National Contact Persons.

In 1995 the SADC Council of Ministers approved the establishment of the SADC Media Awards to recognise best media work in the region. Since 1996 the SADC Secretariat has been coordinating the Media Awards to encourage the media in the Region to play a leading role in disseminating information on SADC in order to support the process of regional co-operation and integration.

In the 2018 SADC Media Awards, Ms. Emma Nakapizye from the Republic of Zambia won the first prize in the Photo Category; Ms. Calviniah Kgautlhe from the Republic of Botswana was awarded first prize in the Print Category; Mr. Abdel Baulacky from the Republic of Mauritius won the first prize in the Television Category; and Ms. Onalenna Dube from the Republic of Botswana won the first prize in the Radio Category. The runners-up were; Ms. Debra Hathway from the Republic of South Africa (Print Category); Ms. Blanche Goreses from the Republic of Namibia (Television Category); Mr Mosotho Stone from the Republic of South Africa (Radio Category) and Mr. Yobe Shonga from the Republic of Botswana (Photo Category).

The communication materials that include Press Release, Rules of the Competition and Entry forms in all SADC working languages (English, French and Portuguese) can be accessed from the list of attachments below: